# State of Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board Meeting Minutes July 15, 2022

**HEAB Board Present:** Stephen Willett, Jeff Neubauer, Jeff Cichon, Susan Teerink, Timothy Opgenorth, Jennifer Garrett, Kyle Weatherly, Efrem Dana.

**HEAB Staff Present:** Connie Hutchison, Sherrie Nelson, Joy Dyer and Brenda Stoffels

**Others Present:** Rolf Wegenke and Rebecca Larson, WAICU, Brandon Trujillo, WTCS, Mary Czech-Mrochinski, Jennifer Conway, UW-Marquette, Todd Bailey, Mickie Krall, UW System; John Whitt, UW-Madison.

Board Chair Stephen Willett called the meeting to order at 9:03 am

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES**

Moved by Jeff Neubauer and seconded by Stephen Willett to approve minutes of the February 11, 2022, meeting. Motion passed.

### **MEETING DATES**

Setting of 2022-2023 Meeting Dates

Friday, October 28, 2022 Friday, February 17 Friday, April 21 Friday, July 28, 2023

#### CONSIDERATION OF BOARD REPORTS

### #23-01 WTCS WISCONSIN GRANT FORMULA REVISION REQUEST

**ACTION** 

WTCS is requesting a modification to the approved formula to fully exhaust the remaining appropriation. They are also implementing a second tier of awards like the process used by the UW System. Board member Jeff Cichon moved to amend the 2<sup>nd</sup> tier award amount from \$800 to \$500. Seconded by Stephen Willett and the motion passed.

Stephen Willed moved to accept the modified request as proposed, seconded by Jeff Cichon and the motion passed.

## #23-02 SECTORS REQUEST A SPECIAL MEETING FOR BUDGET DISCUSSIONS

**ACTION** 

Stephen Willett made a motion to set up a special meeting on August 26 for the purpose of budget discussions. Jeff Neubauer seconded, and the motion passed.

#23-03 STATUS OF APPLICANTS AND PROGRAMS

INFORMATION

HEAB staff Sherrie Nelson summarized the report.

# **ELECTION OF 2022-23 BOARD OFFICERS**

**ACTION** 

Chair: Stephen Willett

Vice Chair: Jennifer Kammerud

Secretary: Jeff Cichon

Stephen Willett nominated himself to continue as chair; Tim Opgenorth seconded the motion and the motion passed.

Stephen Willett nominated Jennifer Kammerud to continue as vice chair. Jeff Cichon seconded, and the motion passed.

Stephen Willett nominated Jeff Cichon to continue as secretary. Susan Teerink seconded, and the motion passed.

# **NEW BUSINESS**

No new business was presented to the Board.

Stephen Willett made motion to adjourn, and all were in favor. Meeting adjourned at 9:57 am.

# **FUTURE MEETING**

The next meeting of the board is Friday, August 26, 2022.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeff Cichon, Secretary