State of Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board

Meeting Minutes October 22, 2021

Board Members Present: Stephen Willett, Jeff Cichon, Jennifer Kammerud, Kyle Weatherly, Jennifer Garrett, Efrem Dana, Tim Opgenorth and Jeff Neubauer

HEAB Staff Present: Connie Hutchison, Sherrie Nelson, Joy Dyer, Cassie Weisensel, Charlene Sime, Peter Zammuto and Brenda Stoffels.

Others Present: Todd Bailey, Mickie Krall, UW System; Rolf Wegenke, Linh Anh Le, and Rebecca Larson, WAICU; Erin Probst, LFB; Mary Czech-Mrochinski, Marquette University; Chris Caldwell, College of Menominee Nation; Monique Currie, Wisconsin Technical College System.

Board Chair Stephen Willett called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Moved by Jennifer Kammerud and seconded by Stephen Willett to approve the minutes from the July 30 board meeting. Motion passed.

BOARD REPORT #22-06 Technical Excellence Program Annual Report

HEAB staff member Cassie Weisensel briefly described the report.

BOARD REPORT #22-07 Academic Excellence Program Annual Report

HEAB staff member Cassie Weisensel described the report.

Ninety percent of the freshmen awarded the Academic Excellence Scholarship (AES) in 2020 accepted the scholarship and used it to attend a Wisconsin postsecondary institution. While changes in legislation allowed more alternates to receive the scholarship, the required 3.8 grade point for unweighted schools meant other alternates were not eligible and fewer scholarships were awarded. It may be assumed that the procedures for awarding the AES to alternates have maximized the number of scholarships used, and that an average of 85% of scholarships will be accepted by students in upcoming years.

In 2020-2021, 744 freshmen enrolled in a Wisconsin postsecondary institution. HEAB did see the effects of COVID in the number of freshmen who enrolled in college in 2020-2021 as there was a 6% drop in the number of freshmen awarded who used the scholarship.

BOARD REPORT #22-08 Wisconsin Grant Program Information

HEAB administers the Wisconsin Grant for three sectors: the Wisconsin Technical College System, Wisconsin Tribal Colleges, and the University of Wisconsin System. The general structure for the WG formulas is outlined in the State Statutes. Annually, the Higher Educational Aids Board reviews and approves the formulas submitted by the sectors for the upcoming school year.

There are three components in the formula:

(Student Budget - Expected Family Contribution) x Student Award Percentage = Award

BOARD REPORT #22-09 WISCONSIN/MINNESOTA RECIPROCITY MEMO

HEAB Staff Peter Zammuto discussed the agreement.

BOARD REPORT #22-10 MURG

HEAB Staff Joy Dyer summarized the annual report. During the 2020-21 academic year, 719 students received a Minority Undergraduate Retention Grant award. 233 grant recipients attended a non-profit, independent college/university or tribal college, and 486 recipients attended a Wisconsin Technical College. To gauge the effectiveness of the program, surveys were sent to both the participating schools and the grant recipients. Results of the participating school survey are found on page 2 of the annual report and the grant recipient survey results are found on page 7.

BOARD REPORT #22-11 STUDENT AID EXPENDITURES

HEAB Staff Peter Zammuto presented the report.

BOARD REPORT #22-12 2019-2021 BIENNIAL REPORT

The agency's major operational responsibilities during 2019-2021 include three distinct categories, which include grant/scholarship/loan programs, tuition capitation programs and reciprocal agreements.

The state's student grant/scholarship/loan programs totaled the expenditures of over \$263,276,213 during 2019-2021. All these funds were secured from General Purpose Revenue tax funds. Student participation in most of these programs is based upon the federally determined student and/or parental contributions, and hence the financial need of the student recipients. Total awards exceeded 162,020 from over 537,804 Wisconsin resident undergraduates who applied for assistance during the biennium.

BOARD REPORT #22-13 WISCONSIN GRANT FORMULA—WISCONSIN TECHNICAL COLLEGES Recommendation of the Wisconsin Technical College System President Morna Foy:

 $($9,270 - EFC) \times 13.50\% = Award$

(Student Budget – Expected Family Contribution) x Student Award Percentage = Award Maximum Award: \$1,250 Minimum Award: \$500

(See attached letter)

Current Formula:

$($9,270 - EFC) \times 13.50\% = Award$

(Student Budget – Expected Family Contribution) x Student Award Percentage = Award Maximum Award: \$1,251 Minimum Award: \$50

Moved by Stephen Willett, seconded by Jennifer Kammerud, to approve the formula as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #22-14 WISCONSIN GRANT FORMULA—UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN SYSTEM Recommendation of the University of Wisconsin System President Tommy Thompson:

 $($7,684-EFC) \times 41\% = Award$

(Student Budget – Expected Family Contribution) x Student Award Percentage = Award Maximum Award: \$3,150 Minimum Award: \$854

Current Formula – 2021- 2022:

 $($7,500 - EFC) \times 42\% = Award$

(Student Budget – Expected Family Contribution) x Student Award Percentage = Award Maximum Award = \$3,150 Minimum Award = \$798

Moved by Stephen Willet and seconded by Jennifer Kammerud. The motion passed.

BOARD REPORT #22-15 WISCONSIN GRANT FORMULA—PRIVATE NONPROFIT COLLEGES Recommendation of Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (WAICU) President Dr. Rolf Wegenke:

Maximum award: \$3,800 Minimum award: \$500

Inflation Factors: Dependent 600% Independent 320%

UW-Madison Tuition: \$10,720 Base Maintenance: \$12,000

Other Provisions: WG-PNP is pro-rated: 50% award for 6-8 credits; 75% award for 9-11 credits; full award for 12 or more credits. WG-PNP is also tuition specific and has a statutory over-committed maximum of 122%

Moved by Stephen Willett, seconded by Tim Opgenorth, to approve the formula as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #22-16 WISCONSIN GRANT FORMULA—TRIBAL COLLEGES Proposed Formula

 $($6,560 - EFC) \times 33\% = Award$

(Student Budget – Expected Family Contribution) x Student Award Percentage = Award

Maximum Award: \$2,197 Minimum Award: \$250

Appropriation: \$481,800

Current Formula:

 $(\$6,560 - EFC) \times 32.01\% = Award$

(Student Budget – Expected Family Contribution) x Student Award Percentage = Award

Maximum Award: \$2,100 Minimum Award: \$250

Moved by Chris Caldwell, seconded by Jennifer Kammerud, to approve the formula as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

NEW BUSINESS

The Board will discuss the changes made to the FAFSA selective service registration requirement at the February 2022 meeting.

Moved by Stephen Willett, seconded by Jennifer Kammerud, motion to adjourn. The motion passed and the meeting adjourned at 10:09 am.

FUTURE MEETING

The next meeting of the Board is Friday, February 11, 2022, at the Hill Farms State Office Building if possible.

Respectfully submitted, Jeff Cichon, Secretary