# State of Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board

# Meeting Minutes November 9, 2016

**Board Members Present:** Steve Midthun, Nathaniel Helm-Quest via phone, Stephen Willett via phone, Jeff Cichon, Jennifer Kammerud via phone, Jacob Lubenow via phone, Kathleen Sahlhoff, Michelle Thompson, and Robert Welch.

**HEAB Staff Present:** John Reinemann, Sherrie Nelson, Cassie Weisensel, Tegan McGillivary, and Peter Zammuto.

**Others Present:** Bob Jokisch, UWSA; Tim Jacobson, WASFAA; Nancy Merrill, WTCS; Mary Czech-Mrochinski, Marquette University; Stephanie Mealy, Marquette University; Rebecca Larson, WAICU; Drew Anderson, Hope Lab.

Chair Steve Midthun called the meeting to order at 9:02 a.m.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES:**

Moved by Stephen Willett, seconded by Kathleen Sahlhoff to approve the minutes of the July 29, 2016 Board Meeting.

## **BOARD REPORT #17-06 STATUS OF 2016-17 APPLICANTS AND PROGRAMS**

The number of applicants (first-time FAFSA filers who listed Wisconsin as their state of legal residence) for 2016-17 through October 2016 is 254,351. Last year at this time there were 271,155 applicants. In 2016-17, WG - UW has committed 112.17% (\$68,414,162) of its appropriation with 35,067 calculated awards. This is 1,705 less calculated awards and 12.18% less committed than at this time last year. WG - WTC committed 169.91% (\$33,363,980) of its appropriation with 33,568 calculated awards. This is 523 fewer awards and 10.74% less committed than at this time last year. WG - PNP has committed 154.02 % (\$41,386,789) of its appropriation with 14,589 awards. This is 835 fewer awards and 8.3% less committed than at this time last year. WG-Tribal has committed 192% (\$873,648) of its appropriation with 514 awards. This is 4 fewer awards and 1% less committed than at this time last year.

## **BOARD REPORT #17-07 AES PROGRAM ANNUAL REPORT**

Every year HEAB is required to report on the status of the Academic Excellence Scholarship to the Joint Finance Committee by August 1<sup>st</sup>. It was pointed out that not much changes from year to year. Eighty-five percent of the freshmen awarded the Academic Excellence Scholarship in 2015 accepted the scholarship and used it to attend a Wisconsin post-secondary institution. In 2015-16, 742 freshmen enrolled in a Wisconsin post-secondary institution. Total AES funds going to freshmen students were \$807,932 with an average award of \$1089.

#### **BOARD REPORT #17-08 MURG ANNUAL REPORT**

The 1999-01 Budget Bill required HEAB to begin annual reporting on the effectiveness of the Minority Undergraduate Retention Grant. Participating schools reported that 79.93% of grant recipients either completed their degree/certificate programs or will continue to work towards degree/certificate completion during the 2015-16 academic year. In addition 89.17% of the recipients indicated that they planned to spend the majority of their working life in the state of Wisconsin.

## **BOARD REPORT #17-09 STUDENT AID EXPENDITURES FOR 2015-16**

The Board discussed the report.

#### **BOARD REPORT #17-10 2017-18 WISCONSIN GRANT-PNP FORMULA**

Recommendation of Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (WAICU) President Dr. Rolf Wegenke and concurred by Executive Secretary Reinemann:

Continue with the current maximum award of \$2900 and minimum award of \$1000. Moved by Stephen Willett, seconded by Michelle Thompson, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

# BOARD REPORT #17-11 WISCONSIN GRANT (UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN, TECHNICAL COLLEGE AND TRIBAL) FORMULA DESCRIPTION

HEAB administers three WG programs; Wisconsin Technical College System, Wisconsin Tribal Colleges, and University of Wisconsin System. The general structure for the WG formulas is outlined in the State Statutes. HEAB reviews and approves the formulas for the upcoming school year at its February meeting. There are three formula components:

(Student Budget-Expected Family Contribution) x Student Award Percentage=Award

# **BOARD REPORT #17-12 2017-18 WISCONSIN GRANT – WTCS PROGRAM FORMULA**

Recommendation of the Wisconsin Technical College System President Morna Foy and concurred by Executive Secretary Reinemann:

(\$9,270-EFC) X 11.70%=Award, with a maximum award of \$1,084 and a minimum award of \$500. This reflects no change from the current year's formula.

Moved by Stephen Willett, seconded by Nathaniel Helm-Quest, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

# **BOARD REPORT #17-13 2017-18 WISCONSIN GRANT – TRIBAL PROGRAM FORMULA**

Recommendation of Diana Morris, and concurred by Executive Secretary Reinemann:

(\$6,560-EFC) x 27.44%=Award with a maximum award of \$1,800 and a minimum award of \$250. This reflects no change from the current year's formula.

Moved by Stephen Willett, seconded by Nathaniel Helm-Quest, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

# **BOARD REPORT #17-14 2016-17 WISCONSIN GRANT – UWS PROGRAM FORUMLA CHANGE**

The University of Wisconsin System President Ray Cross asked to change the current UWS formula from:

(\$5960-EFC) x 40% = Award with a maximum award of \$2384 and a minimum award of \$584

To:

(\$6785-EFC) x 40% = Award with a maximum award of \$2714 and a minimum award of \$914.

Moved by Jeff Cichon, seconded by Stephen Willett, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

#### BOARD REPORT #17-15 2017-18 WISCONSIN GRANT – UWS PROGRAM FORMULA

Recommendation of the University of Wisconsin System President Ray Cross, concurred by Executive Secretary Reinemann:

(\$6785-EFC) x 40% = Award, with a maximum award of \$2714 and a minimum award of \$914.

Moved by Stephen Willett, seconded by Jeff Cichon, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

# **ELECTION OF 2016-17 BOARD OFFICERS:**

Elections were held for three board positions: Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary.

Steve Midthun opened the floor for nominations. Stephen Willett nominated Steve Midthun for Chair and Kathy Sahlhoff seconded the nomination. Robert Welch nominated Stephen Willett for Vice-Chair and Michelle Thompson seconded the nomination. Stephen Willett nominated Robert Welch for Secretary and Kathy Sahlhoff seconded the nomination. All of the officers were elected by unanimous consent of the Board.

Moved by Steve Midthun, seconded by Jeff Cichon to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried and Chair Steve Midthun adjourned the meeting at 10:40am.

Respectfully submitted, Robert Welch, Secretary