State of Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board

Meeting Minutes October 24, 2014

Board Members Present: Mary Jo Green, Steve Midthun, Jennifer Kammerud, Regina Miller, Darcy Paulson, Timothy Rindahl, and Kathleen Sahlhoff.

HEAB Staff Present: John Reinemann, Sherrie Nelson, Deanna Schultz, and Cassie Weisensel.

Others Present: Rolf Wegenke, WAICU; Wendy Wink, WAICU; Cody Loew, UWSA; Bob Jokisch, UWSA; Emily Pope, Legislative Fiscal Bureau; Peter Welch, Concordia University; Nicole Fish, College of Menominee Nation; Nathan Schwanz, Wisconsin Department of Administration Budget Office; Mary Czech-Mrochinski, Marquette University; and Nancy Merrill, WTCS.

Chair Mary Jo Green called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Moved by Jennifer Kammerud, seconded by Steve Midthun to approve the minutes of the July 30, 2014 Board Meeting.

BOARD REPORT #15-06 STATUS OF 2014-15 APPLICANTS AND PROGRAMS

In 2014-15, Wisconsin Grant-UW has committed 134.36% (\$78,395,536) of its appropriation with 39,707 awards. This is 2,241 fewer awards and 7.81% less committed than at this time last year. Wisconsin Grant – WTC has committed 191.68% (\$37,264,174) of its appropriation with 37,187 awards. This is 482 more awards and 14.7% more committed than at this time last year. Wisconsin Grant – Private, Non-Profit has committed 153.76% (\$41,361,369) of its appropriation with 14,556 awards. This is 309 more awards and 9.45% more committed than at this time last year. Wisconsin Grant – Tribal has committed 176.88% (\$803,386) of its appropriation with 491 awards. This is 71 more awards and 21.72% more committed than at this time last year.

BOARD REPORT #15-07 2013-14 ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM ANNUAL REPORT

Every year HEAB is required to report on the status of the Academic Excellence Scholarship to the Joint Finance Committee by August 1st. It was pointed out that not much changes from year to year. Eighty-eight percent of the freshmen awarded the Academic Excellence Scholarship in 2013 accepted the scholarship and used it to attend a Wisconsin post-secondary institution. In 2013-14, 768 freshmen enrolled in a Wisconsin post-secondary institution. Total AES funds going to freshmen students were \$554,972 with an average award of \$723.

BOARD REPORT #15-08 2013-14 MINORITY RETENTION GRANT ANNUAL REPORT

The 1999-01 Budget Bill required HEAB to begin annual reporting on the effectiveness of the Minority Undergraduate Retention Grant. The last annual report noted that among student recipients surveyed, ninety percent indicated that the grant positively affected their decision to return to or stay in school. Seventy-nine percent of the respondents either have earned a degree or certificate or continue to work towards obtaining a degree/certificate. In addition, over eighty-nine percent of the recipients plan on living and working in Wisconsin after graduating. As those numbers are approximately what they were the year before, we continue to believe that this program is very effective.

BOARD REPORT #15-09 STUDENT AID EXPENDITURES FOR 2013-14

The Board discussed the report.

BOARD REPORT #15-10 2011-13 UPDATE ON TECHNICAL EXCELLENCE SCHOLARSHIP (TES)

Beginning in 2015, Technical Excellence Scholarships (TES) are to be awarded to Wisconsin high school seniors who have the highest demonstrated level of proficiency in technical education subjects. The number of scholarships each high school is eligible for is based on the total student enrollment. The scholarships are only for use at a Wisconsin Technical College within the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) located within the state. No student may receive both a TES and an AES scholarship. In order to receive a TES scholarship, a student must be enrolled on a full-time basis by September 30th of the academic year following the academic year in which he or she was designated as a scholar, at a participating Wisconsin Technical College in the state. The value of the scholarship is up to \$2,250 per year. Half of the scholarship if funded by the state, while the other half is matched by the institution. Eligibility for the TES does not exceed 6 semesters or a total of three years. TES begins awarding in the 2015-2016 academic year. Act 60 requires the school districts to designate scholars for the program to HEAB by February 25th of each year.

Moved by Jennifer Kammerud, seconded by Regina Miller, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried and Chair Mary Jo Green adjourned the meeting at 10:45am.

Respectfully submitted, Stephen Willett, Secretary