State of Wisconsin Higher Educational Aids Board

Meeting Minutes February 15, 2013

Board Members Present: Mary Jo Green, James Palmer, Mike Bormett, Randall McCready, Steve Midthun, Timothy Rindahl, and Laramie Wieseman

HEAB Staff Present: John Reinemann, Sherrie Nelson, Cindy Cooley, Deanna Schultz, Cassie Weisensel and Peter Zammuto

Others Present: Tom Heffron, WTCS; Rolf Wegenke, WAICU; Wendy Wink, WAICU; Bob Jokisch, UW System Administration; Tim Jacobson, WASFAA; Kris Frederick, UW System Administration; Holly Meyer, Marquette; Stephanie Mealy, Marquette; Carla Smith-Liebich, Marquette; Nicole Fish, College of Menominee Nation; Nancy Merrill, WTCS; Cody Loew, UW System Administration

Chair Mary Jo Green called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Moved by Mike Bormett, seconded by Steve Midthun to approve the minutes of the November 2, 2012 Board Meeting.

BOARD REPORT #13-13 2013-2014 WTG Program Formula

Recommendation of WAICU (Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities) President Dr. Rolf Wegenke and concurred by Executive Secretary Reinemann:

Continue the current maximum award of \$2900 and the current minimum award of \$1000.

Moved by Steve Midthun, seconded by Randall McCready, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #13-14 WHEG Formula Description

HEAB administers three WHEG programs; Wisconsin Technical College System, Wisconsin Tribal Colleges, and University of Wisconsin System. The general structure for the WHEG formulas is outlined in the State Statues. HEAB reviews and approves the formulas for the upcoming school year at its February meeting. There are three components in the formulas: (Student Budget – Expected Family Contribution) x Student Award Percentage = Award

BOARD REPORT #13-15 2013-2014 WHEG – Tribal Program Formula

Recommendation of Executive Secretary Reinemann:

 $(\$6,560 - EFC) \ge 27.44\% =$ Award with a maximum award of \$1,800 and a minimum award of \$250. This reflects no change from the current year's formula.

Moved by Jim Palmer, seconded by Steve Midthun, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #13-16 2013-2014 WHEG - UW Program Formula

Recommendation of the University of Wisconsin System President Kevin Reilly, concurred by Executive Secretary Reinemann:

 $($5960 - EFC) \ge 39\% = Award$, with a maximum award of \$2,324 and a minimum award of \$764. This new formula includes changes in the maximum and minimum awards along with the percentage factor.

Moved by Mike Bormett, seconded by Randall McCready, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #13-17 2013-2014 WHEG - WTCS Program Formula

Recommendation of the Wisconsin Technical College System President Dan Clancy, concurred by Executive Secretary Reinemann:

 $(\$9,270 - EFC) \ge 11.70\% = Award$, with a maximum award of \$1,084 and a minimum award of \$500. This reflects no change from the current year's formula.

Moved by Randall McCready, seconded by Mike Bormett, to accept this recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #13-18 WHEAL Program Status Report for Fiscal Year 2012

During the fiscal year 2012, WHEAL borrowers paid HEAB a total of \$15,700.00. As of December 31, 2012 there were 4 people currently still in repayment.

BOARD REPORT #13-19 Status of 2012-2013 Applicants and Programs

In 2012-13, WHEG-UW has committed 158.15% (\$92,275,909) of its appropriation with 45,576 awards. This is 2,276 more calculated awards and 3.68% more committed than at this time last year. WHEG-WTC has committed 157.08% (\$30,268,106) of its appropriation with 30,170 awards. This is 3,658 more awards and 3.58% more committed than at this time last year. WTG has committed 142.37% (\$38,254,594) of its appropriation with 13,662 awards. This is 327 more awards and 3.19% more committed than at this time last year. WHEG-TRIBAL has committed 139.36% (\$632,953) of its appropriation with 375 awards. This is 35 more awards and 13.54% more committed than at this time last year.

BOARD REPORT #13-20 Wisconsin State Student Financial Aid Data (WISSIS) For 2011-2012

Each year HEAB goes out to the aid community with a survey to collect information about need based and non-need based student financial aid for Wisconsin resident undergraduates. The colleges and universities within the four different Wisconsin Higher Education Sectors provided the majority of the information reflected in this report. The four sectors of colleges and universities include the Independent Colleges and Universities, the Tribal Colleges, the University of Wisconsin System, and the Wisconsin Technical College System. The majority of the cost of education is met by assistance that is based on financial need. The majority of need based and non-need based assistance combined is funded by federal loan assistance

BOARD REPORT #13-21 Reciprocity agreement between Blackhawk Technical College and Southwest Wisconsin Technical College with Highland Community College in Freeport, Illinois

The Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) Board is requesting approval from the Higher Educational Aid Board (HEAB) of two reciprocity agreements. This request comes under the statutory authority for interstate agreements assigned to HEAB in s. 39.42, *Wis stats*. Both agreements have been approved by the governing boards of Blackhawk Technical College and Southwest Wisconsin Technical College for tuition reciprocity with Highland Community College in Freeport, Illinois. The agreements will improve educational access for students in both Wisconsin and Illinois by making programs available that are not likely to be offered by either Blackhawk or Southwest Wisconsin Technical College.

Moved by Jim Palmer, seconded by Randall McCready, to approve the reciprocity agreements between Blackhawk Technical College and Southwest Wisconsin Technical College with Highland Community College in Freeport, Illinois. The motion passed unanimously.

Moved by Mike Bormett, seconded by Randall McCready, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried and Chair Mary Jo Green adjourned the meeting at 10:23am

Respectfully submitted by James Palmer, Secretary