State of Wisconsin **Higher Educational Aids Board**

Meeting Minutes March 3, 2011

Board Members Present via phone: Mary Jo Green, Jeffrey Bartell, Maria Flores, Ann Greenheck, Mike Bormett, Steve Midthun, Randy McCready, Timothy Suess, and Nicole Fish for Verna Fowler.

HEAB Staff Present: Sherrie Nelson, Mary Lou Kuzdas, Cindy Cooley, Cassie Weisensel

Others Present: Tom Heffron, WTCS; Kristofer Frederick, UW System Administration; Holly Meyer, Marquette University; Paul Nelson, WAICU; Bob Jokisch, UW System Administration; Carla Smith-Liebich, Marquette University.

Chair Mary Jo Green called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Moved by Jeff Bartell, seconded by Ann Greenheck to approve the minutes of the October 25, 2010 Board Meeting. Motion Carried.

BOARD REPORT #11-15 2011-2012 WTG Program Formula

Recommendation of WAICU (Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities) President Dr. Rolf Wegenke and concurred by Sherrie Nelson:

Continue the current maximum award of \$2900 and the current minimum award of \$1000.

Moved by Steve Midthun, seconded by Randy McCready, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #11-16 WHEG FORMULA DESCRIPTION

HEAB administers three WHEG programs; Wisconsin Technical College System, Wisconsin Tribal Colleges, and University of Wisconsin System. The general structure for the WHEG formulas is outlined in the State Statutes. HEAB reviews and approves the formulas for the upcoming school year at its February meeting. There are three components in the formulas:

(Student Budget – Expected Family Contribution) x Student Award Percentage = Award

BOARD REPORT #11-17 2011-2012 WHEG – Tribal Program Formula

Recommendation:

 $(\$6,560 - EFC) \times 27.44\% = Award with a maximum award of \$1,800 and a minimum$ award of \$250. This reflects no change from the current year's formula.

Moved by Mike Bormett, seconded by Maria Flores, to accept the recommendation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #11-18 2011-2012 WHEG - UW Program Formula

Recommendation of the University of Wisconsin System President Kevin Reilly, concurred by Sherrie Nelson:

 $(\$5960 - EFC) \times 41\% = Award$, with a maximum award of \$2,444 and a minimum award of \$804. This new formula includes a max award decrease from last year; it was \$2,563 and is now \$2,444. The percentage factor was also decreased from 43% to 41%.

Moved by Jeffrey Bartell, seconded by Tim Suess, to accept the recommendation of the program formula and allocation as written. The motion passed unanimously.

BOARD REPORT #11-19 2011-2012 WHEG - WTCS Program Formula

Recommendation of the Wisconsin Technical College System President Dan Clancy, concurred by Sherrie Nelson:

 $(\$9,270 - EFC) \times 13\% = Award$, with a maximum award of \$1,205 and a minimum award of \$529. This award is unchanged from last year.

Moved by Ann Greenheck, seconded by Randy McCready, to accept this recommendation. The motion passed unanimously.

Moved by Steve Midthun, seconded by Mike Bormett, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried and Chair Mary Jo Green adjourned the meeting at 1:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by James Palmer, Secretary